Do you own a Dyson?

Well I don’t but him indoors does and he loves it! Weird I know. Anyway the other day the Dyson started playing up much to the dismay of its owner. Now to say he was a little disappointed with his super machine would be an understatement so I decided to find out online where you take such things as broken vacuum cleaners. The internet is wonderful for such tasks and usually you can find someone else who has had the same problem in your area and can recommend a solution.

Well it turns out that Dyson have a HELPLINE. Now I don’t want to turn this blog into to a place where I gush about a particular brand but hey this really did happen. Dyson will call out to you, replace any parts that are broken and then guarantee that work/parts for 12 months all for 90 euro! But of course if your machine is still under the five year guarantee its free.

I don’t work for Dyson, they are not paying me to post this (but they can if they want). I just think we should spread the word when a company sees the importance of aftercare. In my experience most companies don’t offer any sort of aftercare in-fact most couldn’t care any less about aftercare!

dysondyson

6 comments
  1. Lorna said:

    I have to say that I found my Dyson hoover very over-rated, despite they saying it doesn’t lose suction etc. I know I have a reputation for killing hoovers but my Dyson only lasted 3 years. Didn’t know I should have had a 5 year guarantee even though I phoned the help line on 3 occasions – should have read my small print!! I decided to invest in a new hoover rather than fork out the €90 for repairs and my new Miele cost something like €140 last year.
    Much prefer Miele. Can’t speak for their customer service as haven’t had any probs with it.

  2. Lorna said:

    Wish my husband loved a hoover, I would buy him one just so he did the vacuuming πŸ™‚

  3. Garp said:

    he he he…. him indoors.

  4. M said:

    Lorna – thats a shame. I guess we have been lucky with the dyson as it is about 5-6 years old and this is the first time its broken down.
    I don’t know whether he loves vacuuming but sure does like talking up the Dyson. πŸ™‚

    Garp – don’t tell him indoors!

  5. jay said:

    I have been very disappointed with the Dyson top of the range vacuum cleaner. Supposed to be for dog and cat hairs but no better than the old one I was replacing after five years of rugid use. If it’s designed to cope with animal hair it should also deal with the inevitable smell that hung around as it was being used. It also bragged about going right up to the edges – not so. It was also heavy and a job to get upstairs. After two years I gave it to the charity warehouse. My old Electrolux had a button on the handle which made it a lot easier to switch on and off, not on the Dyson.

    • M said:

      hi jay – i guess we have been very lucky with our dyson and because we live in an apartment there are no stairs to lug it up. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

