Main bedroom – what to do?

Here are a couple of pics of our main bedroom as it stands today. The room does not get any direct sunlight but the room is a little brighter than in the photos below. And please excuse the lumpy quilt and out of shape pillows. I seriously need to practice staging a room before taking photos. 🙂 And also a lesson in lighting a room for a photo shoot. Oh to be a photographer and stylist for an interior design magazine. Dream job number 1 on my list.

My current whim is continue with grey bedlinen – Next have a lovely button quilt (see below).

next-bedspread

Add some purple fabrics either through cushions or a fabric headboard – which might have to sit above the wooden headboard??? (Below images from Livingetc)

And the bedside lamps??? Sometimes I like the ones we have and other days I want to change them altogether or just change the lampshade. I feel the room needs more curves so maybe round lampshades might work? Then there is the colour dilemma – silver or purple? (Silver shade is from John Lewis and Purple shade is from Heals)

john-lewis-silver-lampshadeheals-purple-lamp-2

Last but certainly not least the walls are a little bare – I want to fill them up with framed photographs, paintings and prints.

2769497960_9fc7c95f46_m hok-1b

5 comments
  1. LoVE your blog! Your bedroom has great potential! I have so many ideas. I would love to set up a concept board for you with some product suggestions. It is a service I have on my site dailydecorator.com called Room Service (which is free at the moment). Send me an e-mail with your pics and I’ll post my ideas for you. I am also planning on featuring some Irish blogs this month (for St. Patty’s) so look for a shoutout to designheaven in the near future!

    Tracy from The States

  2. Lorna said:

    Wow, lots of inspiration there, my fav is the purple fabric headboard photo – divine!

  3. M said:

    Thanks Tracy – i will definitely send you some pics. Any advice will be very much welcomed. and shoutouts. 🙂

    Lorna – I am totally in love with headboards at the moment. My current bed has its own wooden one so not sure how to get around it just yet. Maybe if I play the euro millions this friday (and win) I can buy a new bed.

  4. Alisha said:

    Stopped by to say Happy Holidays

    • M said:

      Hi Alisha – thanks for stopping by and Happy Holidays to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

